Lucifer, thy name is bureaucracy!

Seriously…why do I let it bother me?  I have spent the better part of my adult life agonizing over the errors of  faceless monolith’s that serve to grind my nerve endings into dust.

Today’s breakdown is sponsored by the dynamic duo of my employer’s short-term disability program (farmed out to a third-party) with a healthy assist from my health insurance company.  I needed surgery for a new hip.  That’s a big enough deal without having to worry about getting paid and making sure my leave would not threaten my employment.  They have programs for that and I thank Bill Clinton for the Family Medical Leave Act.  This is the second time in my life I have had to utilize this critical program.  So, prior to my surgery, I get all my normally anal retentive ducks in a row, vis-a-vis the paperwork needed to accomplish these goals…you know, getting paid while I’m off and not losing my job…little things like that.  So I do everything right, meticulously document everything, and today, via USPS, I receive a letter saying my leave is denied and I’m subject to termination within 3 days receipt of the letter.  WTF?

After calling a kind lady at Disability, and finding out that they are awaiting documentation from my insurance company that should have previously been sent through no fault of my own, she asks me about my visit to Dr. No Name last August…I have no clue who the doctor is and we collectively come to the conclusion they are putting wrong information into my file.  Oh yeah, and they are addressing me as “Ms. Kelly” in their correspondence, I pointed out I was not yet ready for “that” surgery.

What I don’t understand is why I let it bug me.  Inevitably, this will be resolved, and I will be okay, but the level of angst and frustration it causes is really off the hook…I’ll own my part in that if YOU…yes YOU, the nameless, faceless employee that processes these claims, steps up to the plate and is willing to clean their side of the street.  Do your job.  Do it well.  Make an investment in your client.  Don’t treat us as a just a file number.

I’m fortunate enough to work for a company in the service industry that is well-known for its superior customer service.  Is it hard to provide?  No…it’s actually easier than screwing up the first time.  We screw up, we fix it.  You just THINK we screw up…we fix it.  We eat a lot of revenue each year accommodating fraud, but at the end of the day, our loyal customer knows we will go out of our way to take care of them.

Why can’t you?

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

Leave a Reply

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

Think it. Write it. Love it.

Biking in LA

Your best source for bike news around the corner. And around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

Embedded in America

Adventures in Reason, Reality and Politics

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Playground

Presented by The Average Jim

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

