N.R.A., NASCAR…and Donkey’s

Up until four years ago, I was a card-carrying member of the National Rifle Association.  I fully support the second amendment (covered ad nauseam in an upcoming post) and wished to support the N.R.A.’s efforts to continue this fight.  Up until four years ago.

One of the cool things about being an N.R.A. member is that you receive swag in the mail…sweet hats, nice bags and a free subscription to American Rifleman.  If you’re a gun geek like me, this stuff was a great byproduct of my membership.  Up until four years ago.  Up until I started receiving mailings from them describing a horrible person who was going to sneak into my house in the middle of the night and steal my guns…and worse if I didn’t renew my membership.

Of course they were referring to that evil despot, Barack Hussein Obama.  That fascist, non-citizen intent on destroying everything that our founding father’s fought for.  Minor detail, but they were talking about the man I loved…the man who held the key to hope for the next four-years, in my mind.  Disappointment was the order of the day when I realized no more cool swag would be coming my way as I vowed to never renew my membership.  The hateful tone and mean-spirited level of rhetoric was too much…I still am an ardent supporter of gun rights…I’ll just have to hope that more moderate factions lead the way in the future.

And this leaves NASCAR.  As a democrat (registered, but willing to consider any other pragmatic options…friends with benefits with another party is on my radar) and an enthusiastic auto racing fan…my life is oftentimes uncomfortable.  The driver with whom I live and die will tweet a sarcastic shot at the President or endorse the Republican candidate; who by the by will be making an appearance at this week’s race at Richmond.

The most conflicting incident however was when Michelle Obama and Dr. Jill Biden were roundly booed at a NASCAR race.  There wasn’t a place low enough that I could crawl as a liberal when that occurred.

What does this all mean?  We are not bot’s.  We are all complex political and cultural beings who embrace sometimes conflicting values and cultures.  Are there Republican’s out there who secretly watch the Daily Show?  If enough of us cross this line, maybe there is the beginnings of compromise and dialogue.  Maybe we can begin to end the culture of hate, immaturity and name-calling that define EACH party.  Maybe we can all just get along…

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

2 responses to “N.R.A., NASCAR…and Donkey’s

  • Joyce

    Regarding gun control…do you ever watch HBO’s The Newsroom? My husband does. I personally can’t stand it. But one tidbit I’ve picked up on the show and confirmed is that the Obama administration has been rated by the Brady Campaign with a straight-F report card in terms of gun control legislation. Not sure that’s something to be proud of, but it certainly does fly in the face of the right’s argument that Obama is out to take our guns. Or your guns. I don’t have any guns.

Leave a Reply

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

Think it. Write it. Love it.

Biking in LA

Your best source for bike news around the corner. And around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

Embedded in America

Adventures in Reason, Reality and Politics

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Playground

Presented by The Average Jim

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

