On being…”Freshly Pressed”

Being relatively new to WordPress, I had yet to explore everything the site had to offer.  So when I received an email last week from a woman named Cheri telling me that my post, “The Reluctant President”, would be featured on their “Freshly Pressed” page, I immediately assumed Cheri was a Nigerian overlord and this somehow involved me divulging my driver’s license and credit card number. In fact, I posted as much on my Facebook page.  “Hey guys, I’m pretty sure this is a scam…but in case it isn’t…” and proceeded to let a few of my friends know that I think maybe something relatively cool may have just happened.

I debated whether to even compose the post you are now reading, because if you know me, the last thing I want or need is attention…yes, I appreciate the irony.  Being “Freshly Pressed” for me is sort of like standing at a podium in a crowded auditorium that is so silent you can hear a pin drop and everyone is waiting for some pearls of wisdom to flow through the microphone.

The reason I’m posting is this:  Thank you.  Thank you to Cheri Lucas at WordPress for choosing my post.  Thank you to all of you that took time out of your day to read my post.  Thank you to all of you that liked it.  And a special thanks to all of you who are now following my posts.  I will try my utmost to provide you with some nuggets of intrigue and passion from here on out, but please realize I’m just a guy that loves to write and loves to express himself in the written word.  This blog is a commitment I’ve made to myself (and by extension, you now) to write “something” 6 days/week in order to improve my craft.  I love writing and am finding that by doing this I am transitioning from the infatuation stage into the full-blown psychotic, possessive love state where I want writing to have my children.  Okay, that may have been a little over-the-top, but you get my point.  I love writing.

So thank you…thank you WordPress, thank you followers and people who liked it.  And finally a special thanks to the posters and people who have commented…although I couldn’t disagree with some of you more, for the most part everyone has been incredibly civil in the discourse and that has given me great hope.  Hope that someday we can find some compromise among a currently fractured electorate.

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

10 responses to “On being…”Freshly Pressed”

Leave a Reply

reluctantjoy

Achieving Happiness Inspite of Myself

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

story blogger

Biking in LA

SoCal's leading source for bike news, from around the corner. Or around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The House Of Positive Vibes

Presented by The Average Jim's Playground

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

