The New “Civil” War…

Retro is big these days…from fashion to politics. Yes, I said politics. The Civil War is back…emphasis on “civil” but the similarities between the issues that divided our country 150+ years ago are right around the corner.

The first salvo was fired by Reagan and his brand of “you don’t have to be smart to be President” style of leadership. This was followed by a much more vile pattern of behavior by one Karl Rove.  The master of dirty politics. The savant of “the ends justify the means”…both men shortsightedly employing short-term solutions for long-term problems.

Demagogues. It doesn’t matter if they lie as long as the electorate buys it…and it’s what you want to hear. Many argue that our current President falls into that category to which I respond…wrong…simply…wrong.  That argument is another among many twisted by the Rove/Fox/Hannity spin machine.  Truth doesn’t matter anymore.  Witness Romney’s debate “win”.

I’m a liberal.  I’m unlikely to be persuaded by your right-wing point of view.  I’m even less likely to be persuaded by it if you come at me with misinformation, intimidation and name-calling.  My opinion clearly is at odds with a portion of this country.  30 years ago that would be called a two-party system.  Today, my opinion opens me up to personal attack and charges of disloyalty to my country and plain stupidity.

I don’t troll the websites of Republicans or other people with whom my views diverge.  At times however I do have occasion to see their comments and views and it scares the living hell out of me.  Perhaps they feel that way about my views, but I don’t feel the need to post my opinions of them on their websites.  I’d like to but I don’t.  For one thing, it’s a waste of time. I’m not going to change their opinion by posting provocative content. For another thing, it’s disrespectful to the process.  A process that not so long ago used to be a great deal more “civil” than it is today. Responsibility for that can be primarily assigned to the Karl Rove’s of the world.  You may disagree with that, but, sadly for you…it is one of those pesky, socially verifiable facts that Rove and Fox “News” have ingratiated this culture of hate into our political discourse.

I work a full-time job and am a single parent.  I don’t have nearly as much time to fact check and investigate the prescient political issues as I would like and I suspect I am the rule rather than the exception.  So most of us gravitate to those individuals and institutions that “feel” right.  For me, that’s the Democratic and socially liberal platform…and the godsend that is Jon Stewart.  For you, it may be Fox and the conservative platform.  Here’s the deal…we probably both don’t have time to independently verify our facts, so to that end, rather than engage in the self-defeating exercise of personal criticism, let’s make reasoned arguments from our heart, and do our best to not let our passion eclipse our humanity or sense of community.

If we don’t follow this path, I am truly afraid that the “civil” war will become another Civil War…

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

6 responses to “The New “Civil” War…

  • kingmidget

    Well said … I believe that the internet is one of the biggest causes for the horrible nature of the political debate in this country. If you look at the comment sections of newspapers, blogs, etc., the hate and venom that spills out from people who can hide behind anonymous identities is disgusting. There’s no interest anymore in what you describe as an objective — it’s just a massive schoolyard name-calling fest. As a result, people more and more believe the worst of each other.
    The conversations I have with people in person are so much better than the on-line version. It is simply impossible to have a reasonable, respectful conversation about politics in open on-line forums.
    As well, the internet has created the biggest bullhorn ever for the liars to spread their lies and create an impact before the truth comes out.
    The ability of Mitt Romney and his cohorts to so blatantly lie, and they know they’re lying, and get away with it is stunning and disgusting.

  • bravesmartbold

    If they didn’t lie, who would follow?

    • Conversations With The Moon

      I actually believe there is a reasonable conservative class out there…sadly they’ve been dwarfed by the rhetoric of the Tea Party and other harbingers of hate. I’d like to see them stand up to this nonsense and further their own agenda; I likely won’t agree with it but it would be a lot more “civil”…

      • bravesmartbold

        Agreed. It works both ways too. I’m so liberal that I have to step back and think about what I believe and who I listen to.

  • Lucky Lucy

    I think, I ponder, I weigh opinion. After a long meeting, while idling in dreadful traffic this morning I came to a decision, much like the one in your post, but from a different perspective. Neither of us will likely concede certain points of our political philosophy. That is fine. While we all come to our conclusions by different courses, mine is not impulsive or driven by talking heads on any news station or blog. I grew up in a home where political activities were a natural course of daily life. I watched my Father struggle with situations to find a balance, to consider and weigh each component of an issue and to draw conclusions that he felt, as a concerned and moral man, by precedent and by what would benefit most persons or groups involved. On some issues I find myself conservative, on others much more liberal. My opinions are mine. That said, I appreciate opposing thoughts and ideals, how can any of us make a valued decision if we do not explore alternate components of an issue? No, we will never agree and I do not read this particular blog in an attempt to elevate the negative discourse that has infected the blog world. Generalizations are just as inappropriate on the left side of center as well as the right.

Leave a Reply

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

Think it. Write it. Love it.

Biking in LA

Your best source for bike news around the corner. And around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

Embedded in America

Adventures in Reason, Reality and Politics

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Playground

Presented by The Average Jim

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

