Breaking News Fail…or How Twitter Became My Source of Real News

How does the saying go?  “I’ve got a dog in this fight”?  My daughter is smack dab at the south end of the landfall of Hurricane Sandy in Washington D.C.  The good news is so far so good…she is safe.  The bad news is tonight is the death of traditional television breaking news coverage as far as I’m concerned.

I’ve been keeping tabs on my college freshman in DC today/tonight via text and phone calls.  But I also wanted to get some objective analysis of the storm and how it might affect…oh, I don’t know…her LIFE.  What I found was what I knew I would find on CNN:

  • Ali Velshi foolishly standing waist deep in water in Atlantic City
  • Erin Burnett and Anderson Cooper attempting to moderate live broadcasts outside in the storm.  Cooper attempts to do an interview with the Governor of New Jersey while he is battered by winds and rain…sophomoric sensationalism at best.
  • Ashley Banfield patting herself on the back for not erroneously reporting the NYSE was underwater while her employer had been doing just that for the previous hour.

It’s amateur hour at the networks folks.  Who can put on the most dramatic live shot?  Who can break the news faster? Who can look more macho/sexy weathering the storm?  What the fuck does this have to do with informing me?  How the hell does this help me understand the potential danger my daughter may be in?

Twitter came through tonight.  It was my source for the most accurate links to the truth.  Yes, it will always contain unsubstantiated reporting, but it also contained the most timely and accurate NEWS.  And that’s what I wanted…news…information.  I didn’t want to see millionaire reporters acting like idiots.

Thank God for the internet.  I can’t imagine a world where my only source of breaking information was television.  If Edward R. Murrow was alive today…well, he would probably be homeless…not sexy enough for T.V…too many pesky facts.

Maybe it will stop when Anderson or Ali or some other fame hungry moron is decapitated on live T.V. by a sharp piece of building facade but, sadly, I know that would only increase ratings and martyr the idiots…

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

One response to “Breaking News Fail…or How Twitter Became My Source of Real News

Leave a Reply

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

Think it. Write it. Love it.

Biking in LA

Your best source for bike news around the corner. And around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

Embedded in America

Adventures in Reason, Reality and Politics

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Playground

Presented by The Average Jim

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

