“Look, you work your side of the street and I’ll work mine.” ~Steve McQueen-Bullitt

Clearly, I’m not Steve McQueen but I connect with the quote and the man (character) himself so much, I made it my Gravatar.  Let me explain:

I’m a control freak.  It’s what drove my success as a Paramedic and ultimately a Fire Captain in a previous life.  I spent a lot of time preparing and studying and practicing my craft, so that in an emergency situation, when lives literally hung in the balance, I was ready…muscle memory they call it.  There’s no shortcuts for that kind of skill.

So here’s the rub…if you’re not a control freak of my ilk, if you don’t put in the same hours I do to, I have a problem with that.  In other words…I have a problem.

You see where I’m going with this.  If you don’t live up to my high expectations, you are inferior and subject to my derision.  Except for the small fact that that doesn’t seem to work in society.  Not everyone shares my same values and work ethic.  And here’s the real shocker…not everyone cares as much as I do.  And guess what?  I’m not all that!

It took me a long time and a lot of soul-searching brought on by some real tragedy, self-made and otherwise, in my life for me to realize I am not the center of the universe.  You might laugh, but in all honesty I thought I was…and still do in some moments (muscle memory I’m sure LOL)…

I couldn’t figure out why I was so unhappy and why the people around me were such lazy idiots (I’m not recovered from this entirely…I invite you to drive with me on any given day).  What I finally DID figure out was that this was not their problem…it was mine.

Back to the quote…it reminds me that I can only control one thing…ME.  The Serenity Prayer is a great relief to me during these times.  My workplace is filled with incompetence (as I see it) but at the end of the day, all I can truly affect are my actions and my responses to others.  This is SO much easier said than done, but it’s something I truly do strive for every day.  Sometimes successfully, but oftentimes not…progress not perfection.

What spurred this post was a response a gentlemen made on my post yesterday on faith…he kindly suggested that instead of Karma, I come to realize the joys of Jesus Christ and all the benefits that has to offer.  Thank you very kindly sir, but I’m completely and wholly satisfied with my concept of God and wish to leave it at that.  I appreciate your faith but am constantly amazed at others enthusiasm for sharing.  If your faith is sound, I don’t believe you need to spread the Gospel…if I am destined to become Born Again…don’t you think God will make sure that happens on it’s own accord…again:

“Look, you work your side of the street and I’ll work mine”…thank God for this.

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

One response to ““Look, you work your side of the street and I’ll work mine.” ~Steve McQueen-Bullitt

  • kingmidget

    Got to the last paragraph and … well … just … ugh. Walked by a young man on a street corner a few days ago. He was holding a large sign that said “Jesus Saves. Amen” As I stood next to him, waiting for the light to change, he said quietly, “Jesus saves. Can I have an amen.” Without a pause, I replied, “Absolutely not.” “If your faith is sound …” Exactly.

Leave a Reply

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

Think it. Write it. Love it.

Biking in LA

Your best source for bike news around the corner. And around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

Embedded in America

Adventures in Reason, Reality and Politics

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Playground

Presented by The Average Jim

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

