My Gratitude List…

Gratitude.  I was not born with it.  In fact, I was born entitled.  Why? I have no clue…

For some unknown reason, I have honestly felt entitled. I don’t know where it comes from and I’m too old to explore the root causes.  What I can do is stop it…just stop it.

Gratitude has never come easily for me.  I’ve generally been an unhappy guy most of my life (see first sentence) and as a result, gratitude has become a learned skill for me…with some help from an awesome organization I belong to.

Anyway, the bottom line is I experience meaningful gratitude today primarily as the result of loss…either real or imminent.  In other words, I’m quite stubborn, and for me to be grateful, I’ve had to have my head knocked in a few times.

With that…here is my list of all I’m grateful for on this Thanksgiving Day (in no particular order):

  • The fact that I’m blessed with two amazing young adults who bring joy to me in immeasurable ways
  • My health.  I’m 51 and despite some mechanical issues, I’m in pretty good health and am able to enjoy cycling on a daily basis
  • My family…although we have never been close, we share a common bond that is uniquely ours
  • My job…I’ve come close to homelessness a few times (and I’m still not that far from the edge) and the fact that I’m able to lay my head down at night with a roof over my head is not lost on me
  • My sobriety.  It took me a long time to figure out that I suffered from a disease, instead of being a weak, bad person, but once I did, I was able to arrest this monster and live a life beyond my wildest dreams
  • My friends.  I’m not the easiest guy to be friends with and I appreciate beyond belief those of you that have stuck around
  • Cliff…my spiritual mentor and the closest thing I have to a father these days.  He’ll never read this but he has saved my life
  • I can afford to buy food every two weeks.  I still have some times where I need to skimp, but to be able to partially stock my pantry is something I will never again take for granted
  • My passion for writing.  I’ve recently re-discovered it and it has lit a fire inside me that I’m very grateful for
  • My faith.  It’s not perfect and it’s a work in progress, but it’s something I never considered or grasped until recently and I’m very grateful for this turn of events in my life

Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.  I wish you all the very best and hope you may all find your gratitude list helpful in times of challenge!

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

One response to “My Gratitude List…

  • Conversations With The Moon

    Two VERY important things I left off my list:
    1. That there are men and women overseas protecting our freedom in military service…I am eternally grateful
    2. There is a cease fire in the middle east right now…please let this be the beginning of the end

Leave a Reply

reluctantjoy

Achieving Happiness Inspite of Myself

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

story blogger

Biking in LA

SoCal's leading source for bike news, from around the corner. Or around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The House Of Positive Vibes

Presented by The Average Jim's Playground

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

