It’s Hockey…eh?

As I write this, I’m watching the Los Angeles Kings take on the Dallas Stars on television.

At age 52, I still consider myself a Southern California kid.  In the mid 70’s when I was in high school…I played hockey–on ice. That was unheard of in those days and it was strictly an underground enterprise for the most part.  This was pre-Gretzky mind you.  I loved to play, and to this day treasure every one of those moments.  For a relatively shy kid who wasn’t part of the “in-crowd”, ice hockey provided me with a HUGE dose of self-confidence.  In fact, this shy kid ended up leading the league (Orange County to Santa Barbara) in penalty minutes for fighting.

My dad had a client who’s company had season seats to Kings games, and this guy used to offer me seats on a regular basis.  I saw probably 40-50 home games at the Fabulous Forum back in the day…the days of Rogie Vachon, Marcel Dionne, Dave Hutchinson, and a rookie named Dave Taylor.  My dad and I frequently went to games together…another cherished memory.

Sports affects all of us differently. Some people have no connection, while for others it becomes a way of life. For me, sports and ice hockey specifically, became an important fabric of my life.

Last year, as the Kings began their run for the Stanley Cup, something they had not done in over 40 years, I decided to surprise my son and get us tickets to a Western Conference Playoff game against Phoenix, costing me a small fortune.  The game ended up being the only home game the Kings lost but the game itself was an unqualified success…my son and I had a blast.  I hadn’t been to a Kings game in a long time and as they came out onto the ice to the roar of the sell-out crowd, I desperately fought the urge to break down into a puddle of sobbing goo.  It was hard enough to hide the tears streaming down my face.  He asked me if we could go to another game this year for his birthday…I couldn’t get the tickets fast enough.

The Kings won the Cup that year…I watched on TV and let it all go at that moment.  A man in his 50’s literally…and I mean literally sobbing uncontrollably as I watched my beloved Kings hoist the cup.

It happened again last night.  If found this video and turned into a sobbing mess once again.

It’s funny what things unleash the faucet, but the LA Kings…my connection to hockey and my childhood, inevitably inspire the waterworks.  Bubba Watson lost it during a press conference leading up to the Masters today…relax Bubba…I get it.

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

One response to “It’s Hockey…eh?

  • kingmidget

    I haven’t cried yet, but I get it. Having been an SF Giants my entire life, the euphoria of their first World Series in 55 years followed by another two years later is impossible to describe. The feeling you describe when you walk into the arena is the same I feel when I walk into a baseball stadium. Really doesn’t matter what stadium it is, but it helps if its where the Giants play. The green grass, the blue sky, everything about it … it’s really the closest thing I have to a religious experience.
    How cool as well that you’ve found a way to share this with your son. Hopefully, you’re creating memories for him that he’ll recall decades from now the way you remember your time with your dad.

Leave a Reply

reluctantjoy

Achieving Happiness Inspite of Myself

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

it is what it is

Biking in LA

SoCal's leading source for bike news, from around the corner. Or around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The House Of Positive Vibes

Presented by The Average Jim's Playground

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

