TWC=FML

1024px-2011-01-28_Time_Warner_Cable_building_entrance

My first clue that Time Warner Cable lacked a corporate soul should have been their logo. When my kids were younger they loved a mind-numbingly silly Anime called “Naruto”. The title character wore a headband with same logo as TWC…just upside down. Ominous imagery indeed when your corporate logo is the upside down version of a violent Japanese fantasy.

TWC entered the legions of corporate bad citizens for me when they blacked-out two of my local channels that just happened to be carrying my beloved Los Angeles Dodgers.

I cancelled my long-time service with them and switched to Verizon; a superior customer service experience to-date.

Here’s the deal: if I could live without cable altogether…I would. I maintain a debt to these service providers because I’m not yet technologically savvy enough to figure out how to watch sports on television without cable. I find just about everything else on TV completely worthless. This from a kid (I’m 53 now) that used to memorize the TV Guide as a child. It was my third parent. My father was in the industry. I majored in Telecommunications a lifetime ago.

I hate TV…and I hate Time Warner for their latest stunt–their latest schoolyard bully move…

TWC has seen fit to strong-arm the Dodgers into an exclusive contract. In other words, if you don’t subscribe to TWC…you don’t see the regularly scheduled Dodger games we enjoyed last year.  Apparently TWC is counting on Dodger fans to demand that their providers pay TWC to carry their channel.

I fail to see the difference between a bully extorting lunch money from a skinny kid and the corporate crap TWC is pulling. I will NEVER participate in any activity that gives them so much as a dime. That said…I’m screwed this year and so are a lot of other loyal Dodger fans.  I’m not going to get strong-armed into going back to them and I suspect a lot of people feel the same way. The Dodgers are not without blame in this PR train wreck either. They are at serious risk of alienating a large percentage of their fan base. This simply isn’t right.

Perhaps the biggest tragedy in this orgy of corporate opulence is the absence of Vin Scully in my life.

Every Spring, one of the simple pleasures in my life has been the literal goose bumps I get hearing Vin say “It’s time for Dodger baseball.”

It goes without saying that Vin Scully is a living legend. And for me and thousands of others, we are separated from this national treasure by the obscenity of corporate greed.

Vin Scully will live on in the memory of myself and my children for the remainder of our lives. The pathetic pursuit of the almighty dollar at the expense of what is right will be once again forgotten and chalked up to the failure of yet another corrupt corporation.

I’m hoping against hope this will change this year…I’m not holding my breath.

We’re with you in spirit Vin…but we long for the golden vibrato of your soothing call…

About Conversations With The Moon

Divorced father of two amazing young adults. College student, plodding away at a liberal arts degree. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Dabbler in fashion. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

15 responses to “TWC=FML

  • kingmidget

    As a lifelong Giants fan, there is a huge chunk of me that wants to say something like “And I should care why?” With that out of the way … I think the contracts some of these teams are signing, and the Dodgers and Lakers are the two newest and worst examples, border on absolute lunacy. I’d really like to know how TWC expects to come close to making the money they have committed to paying the Dodgers, particularly with their tactics to date.

    • Conversations With The Moon

      Yeah I figured this post would appeal to the fan of the lesser of the two teams 😉

      I’m hoping TWC finds that people are fed up and this idiotic “business model” goes down in flames…

      • kingmidget

        A co-worker is a Dodgers fan. Every time I see him, I hold my back because of the swollen muscle I have there. Now, I understand I should be blaming it on my trip to Australia.

        Remind me how many World Series games the current crop of Dodgers has won? 🙂 Better yet, how many post season games have they won.

        Regarding the real point … I’m close to becoming disgusted by the amount of money that is involved in professional sports. I never thought I would say that, but when players are getting paid $30 million a year and owners of individual teams are signing billion dollar broadcast contracts and the tickets and food are so expensive, I’m lucky if I go to one game a year, it all gets to the point where I wonder why I should care. The problem is that I love the Giants. There is nothing better than putting my feet up on a summer evening and turning on the game, and checking the box score in the morning, and pondering another post season run. I’m hooked, as I have been for almost 45 years, but it’s getting harder and harder to justify.

      • Conversations With The Moon

        Bonds…Marichal…should I continue? LOL

        Agreed…my chief complaint is the denial of access to Vin Scully. Regardless of your apparent geographic illness, you must admit he’s the real deal…

      • kingmidget

        Fingernails on the chalkboard.

      • kingmidget

        I should add that I generally watch sports, including baseball, with the sound turned down or simply ignoring the announcers. They rarely have much to add and I’d rather listen to music. So it’s not just Scully.

  • Angiedaweeze

    One word: DirecTv. You’re welcome.

  • golf channels news | golf channel

    […] TWC=FML | Conversations With The Moon. https://msdrocks.wordpress.com/04/03/2014 … TWC entered the legions of corporate bad citizens for me when they blacked-out two of my local channels that just happened to be carrying my beloved Los Angeles Dodgers. I cancelled my long-time service … […]

  • golf channels news | golf channel

    […] TWC=FML | Conversations With The Moon. https://msdrocks.wordpress.com/04/03/2014 … upside down version of a violent Japanese fantasy. TWC entered the legions of corporate bad citizens for me when they blacked-out two of my local channels that just happened to be carrying my beloved Los Angeles Dodgers. I cancelled my long-time service with them and switched to Verizon; a superior customer service experience to-date. …. golf channels news | golf channel. May 22nd, 2014 at 16:49. […] TWC=FML | Conversations With The Moon. […]

  • golf channels news | golf channel

    […] TWC=FML | Conversations With The Moon. https://msdrocks.wordpress.com/04/03/2014 … Ominous imagery indeed when your corporate logo is the upside down version of a violent Japanese fantasy. TWC entered the legions of corporate bad citizens for me when they blacked-out two of my local channels that just happened to be carrying my beloved Los Angeles Dodgers. I cancelled …. I cancelled my long-time service with them and switched to Verizon; a superior customer service experience to-date. …. golf channels news | golf channel. […]

  • golf channels news | golf channel

    […] TWC=FML | Conversations With The Moon. https://msdrocks.wordpress.com/04/03/2014 … TWC entered the legions of corporate bad citizens for me when they blacked-out two of my local channels that just happened to be carrying my beloved Los Angeles Dodgers. I cancelled my long-time service with them and switched to Verizon; a superior customer …. I cancelled my long-time service with them and switched to Verizon; a superior customer service experience to-date. …. golf channels news | golf channel. May 22nd, 2014 at 16:49. […] … […]

Leave a Reply

Jonathan latt

All the things you don't care about in one place!

theunravelingonion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Gino Michael Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

giorge thomas

Think it. Write it. Love it.

Biking in LA

Your best source for bike news around the corner. And around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

Embedded in America

Adventures in Reason, Reality and Politics

eryn b good

trying to behave

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Playground

Presented by The Average Jim

Los Angeles Boudoir Photography

Documenting the human condition with sensuality and complexity

