In Search of Compromise…

“For man seems to be unable to live without myth, without the belief that the routine and drudgery, the pain and fear of this life have some meaning and goal in the future. At once new myths come into being–political and economic myths with extravagant promises of the best of futures in the present world. These myths give the individual a certain sense of meaning by making him part of a vast social effort, in which he loses something of his own emptiness and loneliness. Yet the very violence of these political religions betrays the anxiety beneath them–for they are but men huddling together and shouting to give themselves courage in the dark.”

Alan M. Watts, The Age of Anxiety, 1951

“…for they are but men huddling together and shouting to give themselves courage in the dark.”

This line broke the wall. The wall that has divided me from expressing anything other than contempt for those that would support a presidential candidate like Donald Trump.

When I envision these folks, frightened…alone…huddled in the dark shouting for courage…I am able to set aside my incredulity, derision, and anger. I am able to feel empathy for my fellow man.

For I too am that man huddling together in the dark with my tribe…holding onto my ethos with a sense of triumphant superiority. And it is at this intersection that I have lost all ability to compromise. To seek consent. To reach out and experience life as another does.

I cannot call on others to share or even respect my point of view until I am willing to understand and embrace the motivation behind theirs. And until we are both willing to take this leap of faith, not only is consent impossible, progress is virtually shut down. The democratic political system becomes mired in gridlock.

Sound familiar? It should. We are experiencing exactly this discord at the present political moment. I challenge you to seek to understand your rival/enemies motivation before you dismiss him out of hand. Seek the motivations behind the rhetoric. Understand that the 300 pound armed gorilla you are arguing with is, fundamentally, a scared little boy screaming in the dark for his mommy. This doesn’t diminish the man. It humanizes him and it empowers YOU to do the right thing. Explore your empathy and seek compromise rather than dissent.

I watched the democratic presidential debate tonight. Up until now, I have been undecided about which candidate I would support. I was enthralled at the political mastery that Sec. Hilary Clinton displayed. There is no doubt in my mind that she is, as she claims, the most experienced candidate/politician to occupy the White House come January. And it is also precisely why I cannot support her. As I’ve previously documented my disappointment with our current President, I’m willing to let faith and hope have another go at it. I’m willing to take a shot on Bernie Sanders. If for no other reason than to support a candidate outside the norm. And yes this is the same ideology leading several of those on the right to support Trump. But let’s be honest. A reality TV star is not the man I want running my country…especially one who plays fast and loose with the truth and appeals to the fears of those huddled in the dark…

About Conversations With The Moon

Writer. BA English from UC Berkeley. Grad School wannabe. Formerly a Fire Captain and Paramedic. Liberal. Believer in Karma. View all posts by Conversations With The Moon

3 responses to “In Search of Compromise…

  • kingmidget

    Couldn’t agree more. I spend time reading a couple of left-wing blogs and a couple of right-wing blogs. To read the posts and the comments, the two sides are like ships passing in the night, miles apart from each other. The only thing that happens is name-calling and denigration of the other side. There is absolutely no attempt at understanding and compromise. From either side. We have all retreated to our corners and shoot first and never bother to ask questions later. I’m not very hopeful of the dynamic changing, which is why I desperately wanted to find a way to ignore this presidential campaign. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to. It’s all too sickeningly fascinating.

  • gpelle

    Nice piece Kelly! I concur with your take on Bernie Sanders, though the cynic in me thinks that not only does he not have a chance, but that his function for the Democrats is similar to that of Jerry Brown in 1992–that is, his role is to suck in young, idealistic, and/or apathetic individuals in the Democratic party so that most of them will then vote for Clinton after Bernie steps aside. At least, that is how I ended up voting for Bill in 92.

    • Conversations With The Moon

      Thanks Dr. G! Great to hear from you…
      It’s with profound anxiety that I throw my support to him. Almost like “I want to want to believe”. And I think Hilary is more pragmatic and is such a political machine that realistically, she can effect change much like Bill did. But at the end of the day, the idealist within me wants, perhaps naively, the message of hope that Bernie brings. Let’s just hope one of them makes it! The alternatives are so frightening…

Leave a comment

Edge of Humanity Magazine

An Independent Nondiscriminatory Platform With No Religious, Political, Financial, or Social Affiliations - FOUNDED 2014

BeautyBeyondBones

Because we’re all recovering from something.

The Gastronomy Gal

all things food and nutrition

Affording the MFA

Full funding, stipends, and healthcare for writers!

MICHELLE ZHENG

The Cunt-servatory

Center for Financial Wellness

We support all UC Berkeley students in developing financial wellness - in college and beyond!

The Unraveling Onion

learning life's lessons with an awkward giggle

L7 Bike Adventures

A couple's traveling adventures by bicycle

LADOT BIKE BLOG

Have fun while traveling, ride a bike!

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

Gino Pellegrini

Education, Race, Mixed Race, and Multiculturalism

BikinginLA

SoCal's leading source for bike news, from around the corner. Or around the world.

Cycling in NY

A blog from an average guy, cycling in NY

Naturally Green Cooking

Green cooking meets natural ingredients with a touch of altitude

The Conejo Valley in the 70's & 80's

Sharing Photos And Stories About The Conejo Valley In The Good Old Days

eryn b good

trying to behave

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.